Philly Bell

2016 Northeast Decision Sciences Institute
Annual Conference
Hilton Alexandria Old Town, Alexandria, VA
March 31 - April 2, 2016
Please Click Here...

Northeast Decision Sciences Institute


Welcome to NEDSI

For those of you who are reading about us for the first time, let us explain a little about our group. We are one of several regions that comprise our professional society, the Decision Sciences Institute (DSI). Our region encompasses the Northeastern United States.

Northeast Decision Sciences Institute (NEDSI) holds an annual regional meeting each spring that features presentations of original research papers; Ph.D. and new faculty development seminars; a placement service; case writing; and other interesting innovations in the fields of Accounting; Business Education; Finance; HRM; Management; Marketing; MIS/DSS/Expert Systems and IT; Organizational Behavior; Operations Management; Strategic Management; and Supply Chain Management, among others. Awards for "Best Paper" in several different categories are given each year.

The Decision Sciences Institute holds an annual meeting in November and publishes the Decision Sciences Journal, the Decision Sciences Journal of Innovative Education and the newsletter Decision Line. Most members of DSI are academics who teach in colleges and universities, although practitioners are always welcome and encouraged to join.

To find out more about participating in NEDSI meetings or about becoming a member of DSI, click on any of the topics on the left. You will find a complete list of current NEDSI people including Advisory Council members, Board Members, and Officers. Additionally, you will find a link to the minutes from previous board minutes and the next NEDSI annual meeting.


The Northeast Decision Sciences Institute 2016 Conference (March 31 - April 2) will be held in Alexandria, VA, across from the Potomac River and Washington DC. Dr. Pedro Reyes, the NEDSI 2016 Program Chair, is planning a fantastic conference. We hope to see you all there with cherry blossoms in full bloom.

See you in Alexandria!
Minoo Tehrani, Ph.D.
Gabelli School of Business
Roger Williams University

NEDSI People

NEDSI Officers
PresidentMinoo Tehrani, Roger Williams University
President ElectJoy Field, Boston College
Immediate Past PresidentJohn Affisco, Hofstra University
Program ChairPedro Reyes, Baylor University
Program Chair ElectRichard Briotta, Bay Path University
Vice President - CommunicationsLinda Boardman Liu, Boston College
Vice President - Member ServicesEric Stein, Pennsylvania State University - Malvern
Vice President - Promotional ActivitiesJavad Paknejad, Hofstra University
Vice President - TechnologyKoray Ozpolat, University of Rhode Island
TreasurerDeb Sledgianowski, Hofstra University
SecretaryGang Li, Bentley University
ArchivistJennifer A. Swanson, Stonehill College
Local Arrangements ChairMinoo Tehrani, Roger Williams University
Board of Directors
T. Homer Bonitsis, NJIT
Arthur Cheng-Hsui Chen, National Yunlin University of Science and Technology
Q.B. Chung, Villanova University
Surendra M. Gupta, Northeastern University
Neset Hikmet, University of South Carolina
Chun-An Li, National Yunlin University of Science and Technology
Matthew J. Liberatore, Villanova University
Virginia Miori, St. Joseph's University
Dinesh Pai, Pennsylvania State University - Harrisburg
Kaushik Sengupta, Hofstra University
Advisory Council
John Affisco, Hofstra University - Emeritus
Shaw K. Chen, University of Rhode Island
Mark M. Davis, Bentley University
Maling Ebrahimpour, Roger Williams University
Janelle Heineke, Boston University
David M. Levine, Bernard M. Baruch College (CUNY)
Fariborz Y. Partovi, Drexel University
Luis Eduardo Rivera-Solis, Capella University
Kenneth J. Sousa, Bryant University
Jennifer A. Swanson, Stonehill College
Minoo Tehrani, Roger Williams University
Past Presidents
1972-1973Thomas E. Vollman
1973-1974David C. Murphy
1974-1975Rocco Carzo, Jr.
1975-1976Louis R. Desfosses
1976-1977Dennis W. McLeavey
1977-1978William Naumes
1978-1979Thomas J. Hindelang
1979-1980Frank T. Paine
1980-1981William R. Allen
1981-1982James D. Portwood
1982-1983Michael J. Maggard
1983-1984William E. Hahn
1984-1985Jonathan S. Burton
1985-1986Robert A. Parsons
1986-1987David M. Levine
1987-1988Algin B. King
1988-1989Robert J. Pavan
1989-1990John C. Saber
1990-1991Albert E. Avery
1991-1992Margaret J. Naumes
1992-1993David W. Pentico
1993-1994Mark M. Davis
1994-1995Christine T. Kydd
1995-1996R. Dan Reid
1996-1997Paul M. Mangiameli
1997-1998Maling Ebrahimpour
1998-1999Stephen J. Schiffman
1999-2000Shaw K. Chen
2000-2001Susan E. Pariseau
2001-2002Luis Eduardo Rivera-Solis
2002-2003Shaw K. Chen
2003-2004Barbara E. Withers
2004-2005Janelle Heineke
2005-2006Larry Meile
2006-2007Fariborz Y. Partovi
2007-2008Jennifer A. Swanson
2008-2009Rhonda A. Hyde
2009-2010Snehamay Banerjee
2010-2011Kenneth J. Sousa
2011-2012Susan E. Pariseau
2012-2013Minoo Tehrani
2013-2014Janelle Heineke
2014-2015Minoo Tehrani
Program Committee
Program ChairPedro Reyes, Baylor University
Local Arrangements ChairsMinoo Tehrani, Roger Williams University

Proceedings from Past NEDSI Meetings

2015 Proceedings

2014 Proceedings

2013 Proceedings

2012 Proceedings

2011 Proceedings

2010 Proceedings

2009 Proceedings

2008 Proceedings

2007 Proceedings